Positioning fields

A place to read and talk about our official updates, errata and addenda for Darklands. Please post all rules queries here!
staggerlee
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:28 pm
Location: Norway

Positioning fields

Postby staggerlee » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:03 am

I have read through this section so many times now, and feel that I really should understand this very basic part of the game.
But, I can't.
The question is this;
If player 1 has the right flank positioning edge, and player 2 has the opposite (player 1's left). Can player 1 then choose the number 5 positioning Field (left flank), and player 2 choose the number 8 (left flank advance)?. From what i can tell, both meets the requirements for positioning, as the positioning ground touches either the flank positioning edge or their head positioning edge.
But, what makes me ask this question is that this means they will deploy almost on top of each other.
Hope at least some of you understand my question, he he.
Jonathon Chester
Posts: 1232
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:09 am

Re: Positioning fields

Postby Jonathon Chester » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:06 am

Simply put if your opponent picks his left (your right) you can only pick the deployments that use your left as your flanking edge if that makes sense
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2018 - 127/100
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2019 - 128/100
staggerlee
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:28 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Positioning fields

Postby staggerlee » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:19 am

Yeah, it makes sense, but this is what I am struggeling with (taken from the rules):
"making sure their positioning ground touches either their head
positioning edge or flank positioning edge (or both, if their
positioning ground touches two edges)".
It says either edge or flank edge. Well, maybe I read to much into this, he he.
Phil Winstanley
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 7:44 pm

Re: Positioning fields

Postby Phil Winstanley » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:39 am

Sounds like I've missed something too.

I thought it was fine to be deploying right near each other as it means the forces have startled one another and means a very brutal first hour!
Rob Boyce
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 8:42 pm

Re: Positioning fields

Postby Rob Boyce » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:42 am

Stagger 'or both if it touches two edges' so if you select a shoulder or corner deployment it must still be on your flank
staggerlee
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:28 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Positioning fields

Postby staggerlee » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:59 am

Starting to get this now, I hope. So the requirement is that my positioning Field needs to touch my choosen flank and my positioning head edge?
Rob Boyce
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 8:42 pm

Re: Positioning fields

Postby Rob Boyce » Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:47 am

Yep! Unless it only touches one of the two
staggerlee
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:28 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Positioning fields

Postby staggerlee » Tue Apr 05, 2016 10:39 am

So then my example in the first post is correct then ( at least what i tried to show).. All that is required is that the positioning Field either touches head or flank edge, or both. If so, there is a possibility that both players positioning Field overlaps each other.
Rob Boyce
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 8:42 pm

Re: Positioning fields

Postby Rob Boyce » Tue Apr 05, 2016 12:11 pm

Right I have the rulebook in front of me now so can actually check the deployments you're talking about. Bear in mind the difference between positioning ground (where you deploy your standard troops) and positioning field (the whole deployment including flankers and scouts) If one player takes Left Flank, and the other takes Left Flank Advance the positioning grounds will not overlap as each player will be deploying on their left (ie opposite flanks of the table). There will be a slight overlap where the left flank players flanking ground and a miniscule amount of their scouting ground over laps the left flank advance players scouting ground, but yes positioning fields can overlap and if you for example take right shoulder, and right flank, positioning grounds can touch but I don't think there's an instance where the actual positioning grounds will overlap.
staggerlee
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:28 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Positioning fields

Postby staggerlee » Tue Apr 05, 2016 12:22 pm

Ok, thx for the answer. Being a bit slow here, and there is a lot of the rules which i find hard to understand. Maybe it is how they are written, dont know, never actually had such a hard time getting the grasp of the rules as in Darklands. I do read a lot of rulebooks, even for systems i never ever going to play. Maybe it is because English is not my first Language, but that has not been a problem before. But since I have invested hard in Darklands since their first ks, I am not giving up! And I am getting there, but it is taking time.
Rob Boyce
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 8:42 pm

Re: Positioning fields

Postby Rob Boyce » Tue Apr 05, 2016 12:26 pm

It is difficult to learn from the book, the best way is to play it. and then go back and check the rules for things you were unsure about!

Return to “Darklands Rules and Musters - Updates, Errata and Addenda”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests