Initiative

A place to read and talk about our official updates, errata and addenda for Darklands. Please post all rules queries here!
User avatar
Kharn
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:45 am

Initiative

Postby Kharn » Tue Jun 21, 2016 8:52 am

Hi, everyone!
Could anyone explain, what units can retain the initiative?
In rules it's said at the beginning, that only lively. But then for generals|commanders it's said to choose lively or alert unit.
Jonathon Chester
Posts: 1246
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:09 am

Re: Initiative

Postby Jonathon Chester » Tue Jun 21, 2016 11:13 am

Characters and mustered champions can if memory serves correctly
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2018 - 127/100
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2019 - 128/100
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2020 - 16/100
Byzantii V
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2014 1:38 am

Re: Initiative

Postby Byzantii V » Tue Jun 21, 2016 12:34 pm

Hey Kharn, I think this is how it goes:

General can retain with any unit in his command range if that unit is lively or alert.

Commanders can retain with a unit under their command and in their command range if that unit is lively or alert.

Mustered Champions can retain with their own unit if they are lively.
Rob Boyce
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 8:42 pm

Re: Initiative

Postby Rob Boyce » Tue Jun 21, 2016 1:16 pm

I believe that it's the commander that needs to be lively or alert, while the unit has to be lively.

So if a unit champion is retaining he would have to be lively as he can only retain with his own unit
User avatar
Kharn
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:45 am

Re: Initiative

Postby Kharn » Wed Jun 22, 2016 3:51 pm

Well, if a retaining unit is alert, it means it already has activated. So what actions can it do?
User avatar
Kharn
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:45 am

Re: Initiative

Postby Kharn » Thu Jun 23, 2016 5:03 pm

We need to summon Rob)
Rob Boyce
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 8:42 pm

Re: Initiative

Postby Rob Boyce » Thu Jun 23, 2016 5:34 pm

The unit that you activate when you retain must always be lively, however the commander that causes them to activate (ie the one that does the retaining) can be eithet lively or alert.

Mustered champions can only retain with the unit they are part of so in that instance they must be lively to maintain
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 2820
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Initiative

Postby Rob Lane » Thu Jun 23, 2016 5:59 pm

Rob has it right... it is all there in the rule book.

Cheers
Rob
User avatar
Kharn
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:45 am

Re: Initiative

Postby Kharn » Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:00 pm

But the rulebook says:
lively general may attempt to retain the initiative with
himself (as well as a unit he has Joined) or with any other
friendly unit that is lively or alert within his command range,
including allied units.

Am I understanding something wrong?
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 2820
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Initiative

Postby Rob Lane » Fri Jun 24, 2016 8:02 am

Kharn wrote:But the rulebook says:
lively general may attempt to retain the initiative with
himself (as well as a unit he has Joined) or with any other
friendly unit that is lively or alert within his command range,
including allied units.

Am I understanding something wrong?


Absolutely correct - I messed up one of my golden rules, which is to check the rule book first. It just shows you all, that even if I say something, you should assume that the rule book knows better!

So, READ THE RULES...!

Page 125: "A lively general may attempt to retain the initiative with himself (as well as a unit he has Joined) or with any other friendly unit that is lively or alert within his command range, including allied units."

Cheers
Rob
User avatar
Kharn
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:45 am

Re: Initiative

Postby Kharn » Fri Jun 24, 2016 8:49 am

Maybe I am being dumb a little here, but could you, please, explain with example, or approve the following one.
I have activated unit of Ax-Drunes, they became alert. Then my general is trying to retain the initiative with this alert unit of Ax-Drunes. Can I do this? What actions can Ax-Drunes do, if they can?
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 2820
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Initiative

Postby Rob Lane » Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:02 pm

Simply put, if you're alert, the only action you could perform would be to Attack an enemy unit.

Whilst this is not necessarily useful for the Ax-Drunes, it certainly is for frenzied units...

Cheers
Rob
User avatar
Kharn
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:45 am

Re: Initiative

Postby Kharn » Sat Jun 25, 2016 5:03 am

Thank you, Rob!
User avatar
Brightblade
Posts: 951
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:57 pm

Re: Initiative

Postby Brightblade » Tue Aug 07, 2018 12:07 pm

BUMP...

Bringing this thread back to life..

Can only one attempt at Retaining the Iniative be made by each player during a game? Or something else....
Devlin Brightblade, Lord of Saxon Hammerwich, Slayer of Trolls, Tamer of Manticores, Petter of Flint Flang the Kill Thing from the Infernal Pits..

As you slide down the Bannister of Life, may the Splinters be kind...
User avatar
Grizzle
Posts: 331
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 10:36 am

Re: Initiative

Postby Grizzle » Tue Aug 07, 2018 4:21 pm

Brightblade wrote:BUMP...

Bringing this thread back to life..

Can only one attempt at Retaining the Iniative be made by each player during a game? Or something else....


Off the top of my head from last time we were playing, I think each mustered champion in a unit, commander & the general can retain once each, you can make as many attempts as possible (depending on how many units you have that can do so) in a single hour, but once a unit is successful for that turn then you can't make any more attempts and the unit that was successful can no longer make attempts in later turns.

Obviously there is also the different flexibility of what that unit can activate with. So a general can choose him/her/itself and any other unit from the muster, a commander can do so but only with the ones from their command and a unit champion can only do so with that unit, which was covered above.

I hope I've got that right, maybe Rob can confirm.
Jonathon Chester
Posts: 1246
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:09 am

Re: Initiative

Postby Jonathon Chester » Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:15 am

Grizzle is correct. Each general, commander and champion can try to retain which can only be done once an attempt. So you cant retain after already successfully retaining and each model can only do it once. You may only do a forced initiative once per game where two units activate at the same time.
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2018 - 127/100
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2019 - 128/100
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2020 - 16/100
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 2820
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Initiative

Postby Rob Lane » Thu Aug 09, 2018 3:38 pm

That's why you're getting retain tokens - pop them next to your nobles and once it's used, that's his lot...

Cheers
Rob

Return to “Darklands Rules and Musters - Updates, Errata and Addenda”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests