Trample Action

A place to read and talk about our official updates, errata and addenda for Darklands. Please post all rules queries here!
Jonathon Chester
Posts: 976
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:09 am

Trample Action

Postby Jonathon Chester » Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:50 pm

Hi All,

I am trying to go through all those rules I have never really used in an effort to understand them better and maybe use them in game. The main one I am currently scratching my head on is the Trample Action.
I understand you can go any distance up to double the models Pace but I am unsure on how the numbers of dice for attacks get distributed to all the units effected.

My thought is if I declare a Trample Action with my Teyern on Ceffyldraig and intend to go 16” (double its pace) in a straight line as per the trample rule which will mean I cross three units which are all small enough to be trampled. The first unit is 7” away, the second 12” and the final unit 16”. Assuming for the purposes of this scenario he takes no damage from the reflex attacks from the first two units.

With the first unit do I get the four dice for the Ceffyldraig’s Trample weapon plus D5 extra dice, as it has not moved far enough at this point to become a Swift Trampling Unit, as well as the Teyern’s attacks as per 6.13.4.6?

The second unit do I get four dice plus D10 as it is now a Swift Trampling Unit plus the Teryn’s attacks again?

With the final unit I get the four dice, plus eight for the unit strength and the Teryn gets a third and final swing. After this I can then attack with the Ceffyldraig’s three remaining combat weapons as if it swift charged the unit?

Apologies if I have got this action completely wrong but it is always been one of those rules I’ve struggled with and hopefully can get right with some help. :)

Thank you.
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2018 - 127/100
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2019 - 71/100
User avatar
DrNO172000
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:04 pm

Re: Trample Action

Postby DrNO172000 » Thu Mar 29, 2018 2:51 pm

6.13.4.2 was replaced with this, check the errata section

"6.13.4.2
DETERMINE THE TRAMPLE DISTANCE
It can often happen that, even if a Trampling unit is performing a Swift Trample, some or all of the warriors within the Trampling unit do not actually Trample Move far enough to be classed as Swift Tramplers against a particular Trampled unit, perhaps because of rough ground or some other impediment.

EXAMPLE
A Krokod of the Khthones is Swift Trampling a unit of Norse Holumenn 10” away, but also Tramples a unit of Norse Trolls 2” away. The Krokod counts as a Swift Trampling unit against the Holumann unit, but not against the Troll unit.

If that is the case, treat each Swift Trampling warrior that has not Trample Moved far enough against that Trampled unit as a Trampling warrior instead; effectively, this means that no impact trample strikes or Charge+ trample strikes are applied to that Trampled unit by that Trampling warrior, although he can still perform Trample Attacks."

There is no more mention of D5 or D10 being added. Pretty sure that was an error as under Trample Attack Dice it says you add the strength to the number of trample attacks you get with no mention of swfit vs not swift.
Jonathon Chester
Posts: 976
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:09 am

Re: Trample Action

Postby Jonathon Chester » Thu Mar 29, 2018 3:28 pm

ah I will have a look at the Errata to see if it clears my understanding.
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2018 - 127/100
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2019 - 71/100
HughB
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 9:27 pm

Re: Trample Action

Postby HughB » Fri Mar 30, 2018 2:09 pm

Yeah sorry - my fault that one. Should’ve pointed you to the errata a bit sooner.
painting challenge 2019 - 37/100

All absolute statements are false
Jonathon Chester
Posts: 976
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:09 am

Re: Trample Action

Postby Jonathon Chester » Fri Mar 30, 2018 3:09 pm

HughB wrote:Yeah sorry - my fault that one. Should’ve pointed you to the errata a bit sooner.


No worries :) it’s one of those I was at work reading the book and forget the Errata existed to check they first lol
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2018 - 127/100
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2019 - 71/100
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 2185
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Trample Action

Postby Rob Lane » Tue Apr 10, 2018 11:16 am

Thanks guys!

Cheers
Rob
Jonathon Chester
Posts: 976
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:09 am

Re: Trample Action

Postby Jonathon Chester » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:25 am

So I have had a read of the Errata of Trample and believe I have a grasp of the rule, just wanting to check if for example a Hydra tramples 12" and ends in attack range/base to base with a unit does it still attack with the non trample/bulk charge attacks and count as being a swift charger thus gaining the -1 to hit for charging and my opponent +1 to parry for it being swift?
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2018 - 127/100
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2019 - 71/100
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 2185
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Trample Action

Postby Rob Lane » Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:40 pm

Jonathon Chester wrote:So I have had a read of the Errata of Trample and believe I have a grasp of the rule, just wanting to check if for example a Hydra tramples 12" and ends in attack range/base to base with a unit does it still attack with the non trample/bulk charge attacks and count as being a swift charger thus gaining the -1 to hit for charging and my opponent +1 to parry for it being swift?


Yes, but it's not a Charge action, so you don't get any benefits as if it were a Charge action.

Cheers
Rob

Return to “Darklands Rules and Musters - Updates, Errata and Addenda”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests