Noble commander attached to a unit under hold orders

A place to read and talk about our official updates, errata and addenda for Darklands. Please post all rules queries here!
HughB
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 9:27 pm

Noble commander attached to a unit under hold orders

Postby HughB » Thu Feb 28, 2019 6:09 pm

So Noble commanders are allowed to be under move orders as well as whatever other order they are given.

Could this mean that if you attach a noble commander to a unit of bowmen they could move one turn and volley shot the next turn without needing to change their orders in between times?

So they could be given hold orders at set up, march 15" (if they wished and had a 5" pace) first turn to get into position and then start volley shooting from turn two all with no further input from their general.

That would be very useful. Just saying.
painting challenge 2019 - 57/100

All absolute statements are false
Jonathon Chester
Posts: 1068
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:09 am

Re: Noble commander attached to a unit under hold orders

Postby Jonathon Chester » Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:54 am

Yep and if its the general he can even activate those archers on hold first...
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2018 - 127/100
One Hundred Minis Challenge 2019 - 90/100
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 2360
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Noble commander attached to a unit under hold orders

Postby Rob Lane » Wed Mar 06, 2019 11:59 am

HughB wrote:So Noble commanders are allowed to be under move orders as well as whatever other order they are given.

Could this mean that if you attach a noble commander to a unit of bowmen they could move one turn and volley shot the next turn without needing to change their orders in between times?


Do you mean Join the unit? If so, then yes... as long as he's the unit's commander.

HughB wrote:So they could be given hold orders at set up, march 15" (if they wished and had a 5" pace) first turn to get into position and then start volley shooting from turn two all with no further input from their general.

That would be very useful. Just saying.


Yes.

Cheers
Rob
HughB
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 9:27 pm

Re: Noble commander attached to a unit under hold orders

Postby HughB » Sat May 11, 2019 10:59 am

Slghtly different question but I thought I'd file it here for sake of brevity.

Noble commanders can be under move orders as well as whatever other order they're under. How does this work for sequence of activation purposes? Can a commander under attack orders choose to be under move orders in any particular turn and therefore activate as if they were under move orders (eg if they were the only unit in the army under attack orders, can they choose to be under move orders and activate after any other units under move orders or would they have to activate first because they are under attack orders yet still choose to act as if they are on move orders).

Another option is can the commander be under hold orders but activate before another unit on move orders because they have the potential to be on move orders?

Hope that all makes sense.

Thanks

Hugh
painting challenge 2019 - 57/100

All absolute statements are false
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 2360
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Noble commander attached to a unit under hold orders

Postby Rob Lane » Mon May 13, 2019 10:22 am

HughB wrote:Slghtly different question but I thought I'd file it here for sake of brevity.

Noble commanders can be under move orders as well as whatever other order they're under. How does this work for sequence of activation purposes? Can a commander under attack orders choose to be under move orders in any particular turn and therefore activate as if they were under move orders (eg if they were the only unit in the army under attack orders, can they choose to be under move orders and activate after any other units under move orders or would they have to activate first because they are under attack orders yet still choose to act as if they are on move orders).


p135 is your friend. "Noble commanders ... are always considered to be under MOVE orders as well as the orders given to them by their general".

So they can activate under MOVE or under ATTACK, in the example you cite. This won't work for frenzied units though.

HughB wrote:Another option is can the commander be under hold orders but activate before another unit on move orders because they have the potential to be on move orders?


Absolutely.

Cheers
Rob

Return to “Darklands Rules and Musters - Updates, Errata and Addenda”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests