Frenzy and Diving Questions

A place to read and talk about our official updates, errata and addenda for Darklands. Please post all rules queries here!
KingTiddles
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 10:55 am

Frenzy and Diving Questions

Postby KingTiddles » Tue Jun 11, 2019 7:37 am

Last weekend I played a game and a weird situation arose.


My meat hulk (frenzy) had line of sight to only one enemy model at a very far distance, despite having many enemy models closer (just in his rear arc). We played it as he was forced to chase down the thing he had line of sight to but now 100% sure this is correct.


Under frenzy, attack reactions and state of vigour are we correct in thinking that a frenzy unit can make endless attack reactions, but if they make an attack reaction before their activation then they cannot make an attack action during their activation due to their vigour state?


Also, diving seems very powerful as you can guarantee back strikes - are we playing this wrong or is it meant to be this strong?


Many thanks!
User avatar
Brightblade
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:57 pm

Re: Frenzy and Diving Questions

Postby Brightblade » Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:19 am

KingTiddles wrote:Last weekend I played a game and a weird situation arose.


My meat hulk (frenzy) had line of sight to only one enemy model at a very far distance, despite having many enemy models closer (just in his rear arc). We played it as he was forced to chase down the thing he had line of sight to but now 100% sure this is correct.


Under frenzy, attack reactions and state of vigour are we correct in thinking that a frenzy unit can make endless attack reactions, but if they make an attack reaction before their activation then they cannot make an attack action during their activation due to their vigour state?


Also, diving seems very powerful as you can guarantee back strikes - are we playing this wrong or is it meant to be this strong?


Many thanks!


Frenzied Beasts are essentially Deafened as they can only hear the Blood running through their Veins for the Battle, so they should only be charging the things they have within their vision arc... If your Meat Hulk was beset by an enemy in his Blind Arc then he can turn and attack.

If a Frenzied beast react attacks that is essentially his activation done, unless he is reacting to another attack.. So Enemy Unit attacks Meat Hulk, Meat Hulk react attacks, if the enemy unit is still alive then the Meat Hulk's activation is over unless another enemy unit comes and attacks him in which case he can react attack back at they enemy unit..

If the original react attack results in the enemy unit being destroyed the Meat Hulk must perform a breakthrough reaction and attempt to charge another unit and then perform an attack, a Breakthrough reaction can only happen once per activation.

Diving I believe is expected to be that strong, but I don't have any diving units in any of my kindreds so don't have a massive amount of experience with them..
Devlin Brightblade, Lord of Saxon Hammerwich, Slayer of Trolls, Tamer of Manticores, Petter of Flint Flang the Kill Thing from the Infernal Pits..

As you slide down the Bannister of Life, may the Splinters be kind...
KingTiddles
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 10:55 am

Re: Frenzy and Diving Questions

Postby KingTiddles » Tue Jun 11, 2019 9:37 am

Cheers for clarifying!

However, I'm sure I read in a response from Rob that breakthrough reactions can occur more than once with frenzied stuff. Someone asked if it is technically possible for a unit to ping pong through an army if they're able to one shot each unit they breakthrough onto and I believe it was stated that it indeed can (though unlikely).
User avatar
Brightblade
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:57 pm

Re: Frenzy and Diving Questions

Postby Brightblade » Tue Jun 11, 2019 9:44 am

That's how it was yes, and had personally been on the end of that scenario, it has been changed in 2nd edition so a breakthrough can only occur once.
Devlin Brightblade, Lord of Saxon Hammerwich, Slayer of Trolls, Tamer of Manticores, Petter of Flint Flang the Kill Thing from the Infernal Pits..

As you slide down the Bannister of Life, may the Splinters be kind...
KingTiddles
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 10:55 am

Re: Frenzy and Diving Questions

Postby KingTiddles » Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:28 am

Brightblade wrote:That's how it was yes, and had personally been on the end of that scenario, it has been changed in 2nd edition so a breakthrough can only occur once.


Aah ok thanks :)
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Frenzy and Diving Questions

Postby Rob Lane » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:21 am

KingTiddles wrote:Also, diving seems very powerful as you can guarantee back strikes - are we playing this wrong or is it meant to be this strong?


That's not quite right - whilst a Dive is a direct Engagement, enemies that may do so (i.e., not in combat) can Turn to Face wherever the Diving unit Lands.

Cheers
Rob
KingTiddles
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 10:55 am

Re: Frenzy and Diving Questions

Postby KingTiddles » Fri Jun 21, 2019 8:46 am

Oh that's a relief to hear! Thanks!

Return to “Darklands Rules and Musters - Updates, Errata and Addenda”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest