Sáthach and Gairlom

A place to read and talk about our official updates, errata and addenda for Darklands. Please post all rules queries here!
cornishlee
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:39 pm

Sáthach and Gairlom

Postby cornishlee » Fri Jun 14, 2019 5:19 pm

Quick question about Sáthach's Ríonfénnid ability.

Ríonfénnid: one unit from Sáthach's host may change its Acuity to become Trained, if it is Levy; Drilled, if it is Trained; Veteran, if it is Drilled; and Elite, if it is Veteran; all for 0 cost per warrior.


Obviously, putting Sáthach in charge of a unit of Gairlom would mean that they would be drilled, rather than trained. If I'd already paid for the upgrade from trained to drilled, however, could Ríonfénnid turn my drilled Gairlom into veteran Gairmorlom?

I can see arguments for (it's basically the same unit) and against (it's a unit with a different entry in the muster). I'm sure there must be other units this would apply to, as well, this is just the one I'm thinking about.
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 2127
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Sáthach and Gairlom

Postby Rob Lane » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:19 am

cornishlee wrote:Quick question about Sáthach's Ríonfénnid ability.

Ríonfénnid: one unit from Sáthach's host may change its Acuity to become Trained, if it is Levy; Drilled, if it is Trained; Veteran, if it is Drilled; and Elite, if it is Veteran; all for 0 cost per warrior.


Obviously, putting Sáthach in charge of a unit of Gairlom would mean that they would be drilled, rather than trained. If I'd already paid for the upgrade from trained to drilled, however, could Ríonfénnid turn my drilled Gairlom into veteran Gairmorlom?


Yes.

cornishlee wrote:I can see arguments for (it's basically the same unit) and against (it's a unit with a different entry in the muster). I'm sure there must be other units this would apply to, as well, this is just the one I'm thinking about.


Well, you've paid for the upgrade, so their Acuity is now Drilled - so Sathach changes them to Veteran!

Cheers
Rob
cornishlee
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:39 pm

Re: Sáthach and Gairlom

Postby cornishlee » Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:31 am

Thanks, Rob. Nice to know I've got this right before anyone questions it!

By the way, I think this ability is a great representation of the proto-historic/mythic Scáthach. Well done!

Return to “Darklands Rules and Musters - Updates, Errata and Addenda”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest