Darklands: Second Edition - Official Errata

A place to read and talk about our official updates, errata and addenda for Darklands. Please post all rules queries here!
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Darklands: Second Edition - Official Errata

Postby Rob Lane » Sat Jan 22, 2022 4:04 pm

Everyone,
This page will list all of the official errata for the Darklands: Second Edition rule book.

Each of these erratum will eventually be provided upon a PDF document that can be printed out, with each offending paragraph(s) having a separate entry so that they can be cut out and stuck in to the rule book.

Each quote below will replace a particular paragraph in the rule book.

Cheers
Rob
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Darklands: Second Edition - Official Errata

Postby Rob Lane » Tue May 31, 2022 1:08 pm

Thanks to Hugh and Dayle for gaze damage shenanigans... (corrections in red)

Page 277:
6·37·3·3·1
PASSED GAZE TEST


If the GAZE TEST is passed, the Gazed at warrior has managed to avoid the grip of the Gazing warrior's gaze before he is seriously affected and suffers an amount of gaze damage equal to the glance damage value indicated on the gaze weapon's profile, multiplied by the amount of shot dice (but not including fated shot dice).


Page 277:
6·37·3·3·2
FAILED GAZE TEST


If the GAZE TEST is failed (or if the shoot roll results in a fated shot), the Gazed at warrior is transfixed by the Gazer and suffers an amount of gaze shoot damage equal to the gaze damage value indicated on the gaze weapon's profile, multiplied by the amount of shot dice and fated shot dice.


Page 277:
6·37·3·4·1
REMAINING DAMAGE


Remaining gaze damage can never be carried over to warriors that are not the Gazed at warrior unless they are of the same profile. This means that the total gaze shoot damage can never exceed the Gazed at warrior's (and any warriors of the same profile's) remaining WOUNDS.

Gazed at warrior as the Wounded Warrior
The Gazed at warrior may be the Gazed at unit's wounded warrior (if it has one). Should the wounded warrior die, remaining gaze damage will carry over to warriors of the same profile as the wounded warrior as normal.


Cheers
Rob
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Darklands: Second Edition - Official Errata

Postby Rob Lane » Thu Jun 09, 2022 10:11 pm

Thanks to James Polmear for this errata.

Page 151:
IV·II·VI
COMPULSORY ACTIONS SEQUENCE


6 - Continuously Affected units Quell or Dissipate
Continuously Affected units must perform a compulsory Quell action or, if there is a Sorcerer in the unit, a compulsory Dissipate action, which can only be performed by Sorcerers in the unit and only to Dissipate continuous effects on themselves or the unit they have Joined (not both).


Cheers
Rob
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Darklands: Second Edition - Official Errata

Postby Rob Lane » Fri Jun 17, 2022 8:03 pm

Thanks to Bryan for this errata.

Page 389:
7.62.1.2
EXCEPTIONS


The exception

Vigour: weary units never perform a voluntary Breakthrough reaction

should be removed.


Cheers
Rob
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Darklands: Second Edition - Official Errata

Postby Rob Lane » Sun Jun 26, 2022 7:36 pm

This is all down to Billy Young and Charles Westerman. Thanks guys!

Page 370:

The whole of the subsection

7.21.2.4.1
RAMPAGE DAMAGE


should be removed.


Cheers
Rob
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Distinct Targets

Postby Rob Lane » Mon Jun 27, 2022 8:55 am

Thanks to Andy Parkinson for pointing out the error of the distinct target's ways, ignoring sight lines...

Page 246:
6.30.2.1.1
DISTINCT TARGETS


· Ability: A Shooting warrior that has the ‘marksman’ ability may select any single warrior he can see from any potential Target unit to be the Distinct Target warrior with any or all of his shot weapons
· Ability: A Shooting warrior using a shot weapon with the rule ‘distinct shot’ may select any single warrior he can see from any potential Target unit to be the Distinct Target warrior with that shot weapon


What this effectively means is that, if you are a mass 1 marksman Shooting at a mass 1 unit, and your desired target is at the back of that unit, you can't Shoot him because the other warriors are in the way. Unless you're on elevated terrain or are mass 2+, of course.

Cheers
Rob
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Darklands: Second Edition - Official Errata

Postby Rob Lane » Mon Jun 27, 2022 9:06 am

On the same note...

Page 252:
6.30.4.6.1
FATED SHOTS

Fated shots can be distributed to any warrior in the Target unit that is in the same SKILL BAND as (or has lower SKILL than) the Shooter, as long as Target warriors suffering the fated shots can be seen by the Shooter.


and...

Page 290:
6.40.4.7.1
FATED INVOKES

Fated invokes for sight invocations can be distributed to any warrior in the Marked unit that is in the same ATTRIBUTE BAND as (or has lower SKILL than) the Invoker's TEMPER, as long as Marked warriors suffering the fated invokes can be seen by the Invoker. Fated invokes for focus invocations can be distributed to any warrior in the Marked unit that is in the same TEMPER BAND (or has lower TEMPER than) the Invoker's TEMPER.


Cheers
Rob
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Darklands: Second Edition - Official Errata

Postby Rob Lane » Mon Jun 27, 2022 8:05 pm

Following on from that, focus range augmentation takes a hit... at least for focus invocations.

Page 283/284:
6.40.3.4.2
AUGMENTING POWER WITH RANGE

Focus Invocations
The range reduction amount cannot be higher than the focus range of the Invoker. The focus range of a focus invocation is reduced by the range reduction amount, and the power of a focus invocation increased by half the range reduction amount (rounding fractions down), until the Invoke action is resolved.


and...

Page 283/284:
6.40.3.5.1
AUGMENTING RANGE WITH POWER

Focus Invocations
The focus range of a focus invocation is increased by half the power reduction amount (rounding fractions down), and the power of a focus invocation reduced by the power reduction amount, until the Invoke action is resolved.[/color]


Cheers
Rob
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Darklands: Second Edition - Official Errata

Postby Rob Lane » Mon Jun 27, 2022 8:32 pm

So we're making sorcery a little less powerful, people; or at least, easier to counteract.

Page 373:
7.41.2.1.1
SWAPPING EARTH DICE

The Earther may swap any one earth die he rolled as part of his earth roll with any one invoked die (including fated invoked dice) rolled by the Invoker, using the earth die result instead of the swapped invoked die. Fated invoked dice may only be swapped with an earth die that is below the invoke value, but fumbles cannot occur if fated invoked dice are swapped.


and...

Page 375:
7.42.2.1.1
SWAPPING ABSORB DICE

The Absorber may swap any one absorb die he rolled as part of his absorb roll with any one invoked die (including fated invoked dice) rolled by the Invoker, using the absorb die result instead of the swapped invoked die. Fated invoked dice, however, must be swapped with an absorb die that is below the invoke value, but fumbles cannot occur if fated invoked dice are swapped.


and...

Page 377:
7.43.2.1.1
SWAPPING CHANNEL DICE

The Channeller may swap any one channel die he rolled as part of his channel roll with any one invoked die (including fated invoked dice) rolled by the Invoker, using the channel die result instead of the swapped invoked die. Fated invoked dice, however, must be swapped with a channel die that is below the invoke value, but fumbles cannot occur if fated invoked dice are swapped.


Cheers
Rob
User avatar
Rob Lane
Site Admin
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:46 pm
Location: Warsop Vale, Nottinghamshire
Contact:

Re: Darklands: Second Edition - Official Errata

Postby Rob Lane » Wed Jun 29, 2022 9:59 am

Thanks to Dayle Archer for this snippet...

Page 51:
2.4.4.1.23
UNSEEING

After the first paragraph

Unseeing warriors can see warriors that are unseen and warriors that are seen n" normally. Remember that lines of sight can still be blocked for Unseeing warriors.

Return to “Darklands Rules and Musters - Updates, Errata and Addenda”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest