Page 1 of 1

Q: dewindraig Dragon Staff

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2022 1:52 pm
by jereme
The Dewindraig's Dragon Staff "acts as a host banner in all respects" and "the Dewindraig gains the 'Host Banner Bearer' ability. This leads me to a few questions:
1. if I have multiple dewindraig in a host, are they all 'Host Banner Bearers'?
2. Can I upgrade the Dragon Staff with banner artefacts?

Re: Q: dewindraig Dragon Staff

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2022 4:27 pm
by Rob Lane
jereme wrote:The Dewindraig's Dragon Staff "acts as a host banner in all respects" and "the Dewindraig gains the 'Host Banner Bearer' ability. This leads me to a few questions:
1. if I have multiple dewindraig in a host, are they all 'Host Banner Bearers'?


Good point - you can only have one. I'll have to add a caveat about multiples.

jereme wrote:2. Can I upgrade the Dragon Staff with banner artefacts?


Another good point. No, you can't - I'll address that too...

Cheers
Rob

Re: Q: dewindraig Dragon Staff

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2022 5:30 pm
by jereme
Two more questions, moving toward silly:
1. can I muster a dewindraig as a host banner bearer?
2. if I muster a prifdyndraig as a host banner bearer, how does that affect the Dragon Staff?

Re: Q: dewindraig Dragon Staff

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2022 9:54 am
by Rob Lane
jereme wrote:Two more questions, moving toward silly:
1. can I muster a dewindraig as a host banner bearer?


Yes, because the Dragon Staff gives him that ability.

jereme wrote:2. if I muster a prifdyndraig as a host banner bearer, how does that affect the Dragon Staff?


I'm not quite sure what you mean - it doesn't change anything about the Dragon Staff? It's the staff that gives him the ability.

Although, if you replace the staff, he can't be a host banner bearer, I guess... so that would have to be removed from him.

Some very interesting questions here - keep 'em up Jereme! I realise this is how technical the online musterererererer will have to be of course...

Cheers
Rob

Re: Q: dewindraig Dragon Staff

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2022 11:59 am
by jereme
I think I meant something like "If I muster a prifdyndraig as a host banner bearer, can I still muster a dewindraig as a sorcerer?"

Re: Q: dewindraig Dragon Staff

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2022 12:30 pm
by jereme
If, in the end, I'm limited to a single dewindraig because the dragonstaff makes him a host banner bearer, can you move "The Honoured Dead" to be a noble option?

Re: Q: dewindraig Dragon Staff

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2022 1:13 pm
by Rob Lane
jereme wrote:I think I meant something like "If I muster a prifdyndraig as a host banner bearer, can I still muster a dewindraig as a sorcerer?"


Of course, they're not mutually exclusive.

Cheers
Rob

Re: Q: dewindraig Dragon Staff

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2022 1:14 pm
by Rob Lane
jereme wrote:If, in the end, I'm limited to a single dewindraig because the dragonstaff makes him a host banner bearer, can you move "The Honoured Dead" to be a noble option?


Well - I'm not quite sure why you're thinking a host banner bearer can't be a sorcerer as well. Is there something I'm missing?

Cheers
Rob

Re: Q: dewindraig Dragon Staff

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2022 1:52 pm
by jereme
Muster Rule 1.1.7.1.1 states "Only one host champion, host banner bearer, host herald, and host paymaster may be present in a host".

Re: Q: dewindraig Dragon Staff

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2022 3:27 pm
by Rob Lane
jereme wrote:Muster Rule 1.1.7.1.1 states "Only one host champion, host banner bearer, host herald, and host paymaster may be present in a host".


I know that - you can have two dewindraigs, but only one can be a host banner bearer. Is that what you're aiming at?

Cheers
Rob

Re: Q: dewindraig Dragon Staff

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2022 3:51 pm
by jereme
That's what I'm aiming for. Is this accurate: regardless of the number of models with the Host Banner Bearer ability, only one can serve that role.

Re: Q: dewindraig Dragon Staff

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2022 7:12 pm
by Rob Lane
jereme wrote:That's what I'm aiming for. Is this accurate: regardless of the number of models with the Host Banner Bearer ability, only one can serve that role.


Yes, that's absolutely correct.

Cheers
Rob